Coastal Observatory, Liverpool Bay, Irish Sea Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory web site

Steering Group

About us

Project summary

Future plans


Survey dates


Service level

Register for data

Conditions of use


Steering Group

SG Documentation

Role of Steering Group
The Steering Group is made up of individuals representing a broad range of end users with a defined terms of reference to keep the project on track.

Steering Group members
Steering Group members at the first meeting (11 Feb 2004)


Terms of reference

The Steering Group will:
  • Report to the Director of Science & Technology, National Oceanography Centre (NOC)
  • Conduct an annual review of the operations of the Liverpool Bay Coastal Observatory and report to the director of POL
  • Provide advice and guidance concerning the relevance of the Liverpool Bay Coastal Observatory to public bodies, policy makers and the general public, and on longer term stategy
  • Monitor the quality and relevance of the outputs
The Steering Group will meet twice per year. The annual review will coinside with one of the meetings to which an international expert will be invited. Meetings will consist of a half day of open science presentations and discussion followed by a quarter day governance

Members will normally be appointed for a three year term.


Steering Group members
NOTICE: Links to downloads on this page may require membership to the the Steering Group, and as such are not available to the general public.

restricted file » Download member contact details (.doc, 34K)

Andrew Wither- Chairperson
Environment Agency

Phil Knight - Secretary
National Oceanography Centre

Dr. Rosa Barciela
Met Office

Prof. Andy Bradbury
Channel Coastal Observatory
Southampton Oceanography Centre
University of Southampton

Ian Holden
Hydrographic manager
The Mersey Docks and Harbour Company

John Howarth
National Oceanography Centre

Dr. Suzana Ilic
Lancaster University, Department of Geography

Prof. ALan Jenkins
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology

Kevin Kennington
Marine Science Government Laboratory (Isle of Man Government)

Paul Leonard
Fisheries and Aquatic Science Unit
Science Directorate
Department for Environment Food and Rural Affairs

Chris Lumb
Natural England

Graham Lymbery
Project leader - Coastal Defence
Technical Services
Sefton Council

Robin McCandliss
British Oceanographic Data Centre

Dr. Steve Malcolm
CEFAS Lowestoft Laboratory

Dr. Matthew Palmer
National Oceanography Centre

Dr. Richard Park
Scottish Environmental Protection Agency

Theresa Shammon
Marine Science Government Laboratory (Isle of Man Government)

Dave Sivyer
CEFAS Lowestoft Laboratory

Alan Williams
Coastal Engineering UK Ltd.

Prof. Andrew Willmott
Director of Science & Technology (National Oceanography Centre)


Former Steering Group members

Prof. Alan Elliott (2004 - 2006)
Director of the Centre for Applied Marine Sciences (CAMS)
School of Ocean Sciences

Dr. Martin Holt (2004 - 2007)
Met Office

Dr. Roger Proctor (2004 - 2009)
National Oceanography Centre

Back to top of page